Posted by: Michelle | July 21, 2010

School Scholarship Scoop — Try Saying That Three Times Fast!

Paying for school without borrowing money is not for the faint-hearted. It’s one of the reasons I chose to begin my career changing education at a community college — the commute is short, the tuition is reasonable, the programs have good reputations for the most part and, while it’s still a major pain in the ass to get the school to do things like evaluate a transcript for transfer credit (I submitted mine in April, and despite several phone calls and even a visit to the Office of Admissions, it’s still not done), the pros tend to outweigh the cons.

So, I’ve dutifully sought out every possible scholarship opportunity I can find, even going so far as to enter the random sweepstakes ones that are listed by the dozens on FastWeb. I applied for one of the many scholarships awarded by The James Beard Foundation, and should hear something this month about the status of my application — or so their website says. Nothing will teach you more about about not trusting what anybody says than navigating the ins and outs of trying to pay for college with scholarships and financial aid, that’s for sure.

But I digress.

Yesterday I came home from class to find three letters in the mail from the College of Lake County.

First, the bad news:

“Thank you for your application for the 2010-2011 College of Lake County Foundation Scholarship. While your application was impressive, we regret to inform you that you were not eligible to receive the…AAWCC (CLC Chapter)…scholarship.”

Now, I’m not sure exactly why I’m not eligible for this particular scholarship. I could only apply for three of the dozens of awards they give out each year, so I was very careful about making sure I chose three I’d be eligible for. However, I’m not going to bother finding out why because…well, see above regarding trying to get my transcript evaluated. I think it’s pretty self-explanatory.

The ambiguous not bad news, not good news yet:

“Thank you for applying for a 2010/2011 College of Lake County Foundation Lake County Women’s Coalition Scholarship. Your application has been forwarded to the scholarship’s sponsor for evaluation.”

Okay…so that sounds promising, right?

And finally:

“We are pleased to announce that you have been chosen to receive a 2010/2011 College of Lake County Foundation Returning to Education Scholarship.”

Woo hoo! Okay…so it only covers about 1/3 of my tuition and fees, and we haven’t even talked books, supplies, transportation, etc., yet, but it’s a good start. And it’s nice when all that hard work of filling out an application, writing a personal statement, and gathering myriad papers like tax returns and official transcripts, actually pays off.

So now…maybe I’ll give trying to get my transript evaluated another shot.

Responses

  1. Just keep on keeping on, girl! None of it is easy or fun (the money part), but it’ll be worth it. I love the Fastweb site for the info it provides. You just never know!


Leave a Reply

Categories

