Posted by: Michelle | August 20, 2010

Three Days and Counting

The new semester starts on Monday, and I can’t wait! My financial aid did come through, with just enough to pay my tuition. And the Returning to Education award I received from the college’s educational foundation was a Godsend, because it covered my books and supplies.

Luckily, two of my classes use the same textbook, so I was able to get it from Chegg as a rental for $54, rather than buying it new for $144 at the college bookstore. Yes, I love books and sometimes even become attached to them, but I don’t think I’ll get all that attached to $150 textbooks. I’m sure by the end of the semester, I’ll be more than glad to send them back.

Today I went to the bookstore and got the required uniform for students in the culinary program — chef’s coat, baker’s pants, hat, apron, and kerchief. I also got the required knife kit, which I wasn’t happy to hear cost $150, but after seeing it, totally think it was worth it. I’ll have it long after I graduate from the program, and it’s a very nice set of knives and kitchen gadgets, along with a very handy carrying case.

In other endeavors, I’ve been working with my daughter Alexi in helping her launch her new business. In fact, we’re holding an official launch event on Saturday, and have 75 people attending the garden party-themed event. We’re so excited! Should be a great time.

I also managed to complete the application (including a video) for Chicago’s Museum of Science and Industry “Month at the Museum” competition. Semi-finalists will be notified by August 25th, so I’m anxiously awaiting that news, too. There were over 1,000 applications, so my chances are slim, but then again — so are everybody else’s.

It’s amazing how full my life is now compared to where it was a year ago, unemployed and feeling everything had become stagnant. Yes, I’m still unemployed, but I’ve filled my life with so many passions and things I’ve wanted to pursue for a long time…it’s hard to remember the person who, just a year ago, was wondering where her life was going.

Responses

  1. You’re gonna do awesome. So happy for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

